Caf Awards 2018: Three Africa-based players make 10-man shortlist

Asisat Oshoala and Mohamed Salah

Two of final year’s Caf endowment winners, Asisat Oshoala and Mohamed Salah

Three Africa-based players have done a 10-man shortlist for this year’s Confederation of African Football (Caf) awards.

Tunisia and Esperance brazen Anis Badri joins Uganda and Mamelodi Sundowns goalkeeper Denis Onyango and a Egypt and Al Ahly midfielder Walid Soliman on a list.

Last year’s winner, Mohamed Salah of Egypt and Liverpool, is one of 5 English Premier League players shortlisted.

Salah’s bar team-mate Sadio Mane of Senegal also creates a cut, along with Arsenal twin Alex Iwobi of Nigeria and Gabon’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, and former Caf endowment leader Riyad Mahrez of Algeria and Manchester City.

Cameroon’s Andre Onana and Morocco’s Mehdi Benatia are also shortlisted from a rough list of 34 names.

Another Premier League star, Wilfred Ndidi of Nigeria and Leicester City, creates a Youth Player of a Year list, along with Morocco’s Achraf Hakimi and Ivorian Franck Kessie.

In a Women’s Player of a Year shortlists, Malawi’s Tabitha Chawinga is a usually actor who did not underline during this year’s Women’s Africa Cup of Nations.

The other 9 players, picked from a rough list of 15, come from teams who played during Ghana 2018, including final year’s Caf endowment leader Asisat Oshoala who helped Nigeria lift a trophy.

The coaches from a tip 3 teams during a Women’s Nations Cup – Nigeria, South Africa and Cameroon – are shortlisted for a Women’s Coach of a Year award.

Senegal manager Aliou Cisse and Morocco manager Herve Renard make a men’s shortlist for Coach of a Year after both took their teams to a Russia World Cup and achieved 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualification. Moine Chaabani, who guided Esperance to African Champions League success, completes a tip three.

The National Team of a Year shortlist reflects a unsatisfactory opening by African teams in Russia, with a 2019 Nations Cup qualifiers dominating. Madagascar and Mauritania, who will both play during a Nations Cup for a initial time are assimilated by Uganda who competent for a second uninterrupted Cup of Nations.

The tip 3 during a Women’s Nations Cup – Nigeria, South Africa and Cameroon – are all in row for a Women’s Team of a Year award.

The Caf awards ceremony will be hold on Tuesday 8 Jan 2019 in Dakar, Senegal.

African Player of a Year

  • 1. Alex Iwobi (Nigeria Arsenal)
  • 2. Andre Onana (Cameroon Ajax)
  • 3. Anis Badri (Tunisia Esperance)
  • 4. Denis Onyango (Uganda Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • 5. Mehdi Benatia (Morocco Juventus)
  • 6. Mohamed Salah (Egypt Liverpool)
  • 7. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon Arsenal)
  • 8. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria Manchester City)
  • 9. Sadio Mane (Senegal Liverpool)
  • 10. Walid Soliman (Egypt Ahly)

Women’s Player of a Year

  • 1. Abdulai Mukarama (Ghana Northern Ladies)
  • 2. Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria Dilian Quanjian)
  • 3. Bassira Toure (Mali AS Mande)
  • 4. Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa Houston Dash)
  • 5. Elizabeth Addo (Ghana Seattle Reign)
  • 6. Francisca Ordega (Nigeria Washington Spirit)
  • 7. Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon CSKA Moskow)
  • 8. Janine Van Wyk (South Africa Houston Dash)
  • 9. Onome Ebi (Nigeria Hekan Huisanhang)
  • 10. Raissa Feudjio (Cameroon Aland United)
  • 11. Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi Jiangsu Suning)

Youth Player of a Year

  • 1. Achraf Hakimi (Morocco Borussia Dortmunmd)
  • 2. Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire AC Milan)
  • 3. Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria Leicester City)

Men’s Coach of a Year

  • 1. Aliou Cisse (Senegal)
  • 2. Herve Renard (Morocco)
  • 3. Moine Chaabani (Esperance)

Women’s Coach of a Year

  • 1. Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
  • 2. Joseph Brian Ndoko (Cameroon)
  • 3. Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

Men’s National Team of a Year

  • 1. Madagascar
  • 2. Mauritania
  • 3. Uganda

Women’s National Team of a Year

  • 1. Cameroon
  • 2. Nigeria
  • 3. South Africa

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone