2017 Spartan Football Awards Banquet Recap

Dec. 10, 2017

EAST LANSING, Mich. – The Michigan State football module hold a 2017 awards party on Sunday afternoon before a throng of scarcely 600 during a Kellogg Center on campus.

“I unequivocally honour a job, a grub and a courage that a football group showed unequivocally from day one,” MSU conduct manager Mark Dantonio said. “Not only in a games, though unequivocally entrance behind and starting a routine over and doing it a tough way. That’s what we’ve done, and I’m very, really elegant of all of their tough work. It’s not a really large comparison class, though a seniors who were there led, and afterwards we’ve got an distillate of immature players into this program, that we consider arrange of gave us a new life, and afterwards a youth category if really solid.”

Sunday’s party was a jubilee of a 2017 unchanging season, in that a Spartans finished with a 9-3 altogether record (7-2 Big Ten) and are in position to record their sixth double-digit win deteriorate in a final 8 years with a feat in a Holiday Bowl. Michigan State, that finished No. 16 in a final College Football Playoff rankings, will play in a 40th annual San Diego County Credit Union Holiday Bowl opposite No. 18 Washington State on Thursday, Dec. 28 during 9 p.m. EST in SDCCU Stadium in San Diego, California.

“When we win 9 football games and are going to a good play diversion opposite a good opponent, with a event to win 10 games, that doesn’t occur often, and with a possibility to send a players out right. Now we need to get pursuit series 10 for us,” Dantonio said.

centeriSophomore linebacker Joe Bachie, who leads a group in tackles, was named a leader of a Governor's Award, that is awarded annually to a team's many profitable player./center/i

Sophomore linebacker Joe Bachie was comparison Most Valuable Player (Governor’s Award recipient) by his teammates. Bachie, who leads a group in tackles, becomes a initial sophomore to win a Governor’s Award given quarterback Drew Stanton in 2004.

“It is a poignant matter for Joe Bachie, and it arrange of sets a tinge for a whole football team. We’ve got a immature group and with 78 players being sophomores on down, a destiny is bright,” Dantonio said.

Below is a finish list of hardware presented during a 2017 Spartan Football Awards Banquet.

President’s Award (senior back/lineman for perseverance): Gerald Holmes (offense), Demetrius Cooper (defense)

Cowing Award (senior manager): Austin Featherstone and Ryan Connelly

Con Demos Scholarship Award (manager): Matt DeWyse

Jim Adams Award (unsung hero): Darrell Stewart Jr. (offense), Khari Willis (defense)

Iron Man Award (strength and conditioning): Raequan Williams

Potsy Ross Award (scholar-athlete): Chase Gianacakos

George Scofes Outstanding Faculty Award: Nicolas Gisholt, College of Social Science

Tommy Love Award (most improved): Felton Davis III (offense), David Dowell (defense)

Clarence Underwood Sportsmanship Award: Matt Sokol

MSU Football Players Association Community Service Award: Gerald Holmes

Outstanding Underclass Lineman Award: Luke Campbell (offense), Kenny Willekes (defense)

Outstanding Underclass Back Award: Brian Lewerke (offense), Josiah Scott (defense)

Up Front Award (outstanding lineman): Brian Allen (offense), Joe Bachie (defense)

Downtown Coaches Club (outstanding defensive player): Chris Frey

Downtown Coaches Club (outstanding descent player): Brian Allen

Downtown Coaches Club (outstanding special teams player): Jake Hartbarger

Danziger Award (outstanding Detroit-area player): David Beedle

Doug Weaver Oil Can Award (team humorist): Darrell Stewart Jr.

Biggie Munn Award (most inspirational): Brian Allen (offense), Joe Bachie (defense)

Governor’s Award (most profitable player): Joe Bachie

Captains Award: Brian Allen, Chris Frey

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone